Board index Roller Coaster Games 3D Modeling Discussion How to get rid of black faces in Sketchup

How to get rid of black faces in Sketchup

Discuss anything related to 3D modeling from 3ds Max to Object Creator. Have a question? Get it answered here!

Post September 5th, 2011, 12:08 pm
RideWarriorNation User avatar
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Posts: 1447
Points on hand: 1,533.40 Points
Bank: 0.00 Points
Many people have problems when they import there sketchup 3ds into no limits. Something that looks like this
"Black faces"
Image

There is a simple, yet effective way to get rid of these.

1.Import your object into anim8tor
2.Click the 4 balls (that represent objects!)
Image
3.You will notice how the object's material is a base color and is dark.
Image
4.Double click the material ball and you will se that 'Ambient' color is dark...
Image
5.To fix this, simply click the "=" sign for all materials that face this problem, then export properly.
Image

Hope this fix's that problem,
-RideWarriorNation

Post September 5th, 2011, 12:15 pm

Posts: 2113
Points on hand: 2,704.00 Points

Post September 5th, 2011, 12:36 pm
GavG Premium Member
Premium Member

Posts: 848
Points on hand: 973.00 Points
Bank: 950.00 Points
Location: Hull, United Kingdom
It has been stickied Kyle so it will be available and easily accessed for everyone having this problem.

Post December 6th, 2011, 3:02 am
gouldy User avatar
Premium Member
Premium Member

Posts: 7827
Points on hand: 3,299.00 Points
Bank: 25,088.00 Points
Location: WOLVERHAMPTON, England.

Not gonna lie, when I saw this topic on the front page, at first, I thought it was going to be someone being incredibly racist [lol]

Post January 14th, 2012, 9:00 pm

Posts: 1241
Points on hand: 90.00 Points
Bank: 2,503.00 Points
Location: Kentucky
Okay, so I did that for my model and when I export it (I'm assuming you just use "Save As..." and make the extension change) and try to load it into the Editor, it says that it cannot load the model.

Is there some proper way to export objects or something? The SketchUp 3ds export works fine, so...yeah.

Post January 15th, 2012, 7:06 pm
yoshifreak Premium Member
Premium Member

Posts: 658
Points on hand: 241.00 Points
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Originally posted by AJClarke0912

Okay, so I did that for my model and when I export it (I'm assuming you just use "Save As..." and make the extension change) and try to load it into the Editor, it says that it cannot load the model.

Is there some proper way to export objects or something? The SketchUp 3ds export works fine, so...yeah.


Top toolbar

Object > Export

Should solve the problem

Post January 16th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Posts: 1241
Points on hand: 90.00 Points
Bank: 2,503.00 Points
Location: Kentucky

Post February 12th, 2012, 4:58 pm

Posts: 1027
Points on hand: 92.00 Points
Bank: 1,341.05 Points
I think the URL for Anim8or should be noted here. Even though you can find it on google, this will take a couple steps out.

http://www.anim8or.com/main/index.html

Post November 23rd, 2012, 5:06 pm
Goku1910 User avatar
Premium Member
Premium Member

Posts: 486
Points on hand: 2,514.00 Points
Bank: 2,212.00 Points
Location: USA
Is there another program that can do the Ambient color fix because for no reason anim8or is crashing on my latest model even though it's size is relatively small compared to the previous....

Post November 23rd, 2012, 5:17 pm
Goku1910 User avatar
Premium Member
Premium Member

Posts: 486
Points on hand: 2,514.00 Points
Bank: 2,212.00 Points
Location: USA
^Scratch that I got it to open....Turns out when I exported the JPEG images from Illustrator I forgot to lower the DPI so I ended up with a 10,000 x 6,000 pixel texture. Whoops. [;)]

craigster001 User avatar
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Posts: 133
Points on hand: 351.50 Points
Bank: 0.00 Points
Anim8or doesn't like png images you import to sketchup to put on faces.


Posts: 2252
Points on hand: 5,889.00 Points
Location: Illinois (SFGAm), USA
this is no longer necessary in NL2... in the SCO editor, go to "advanced" and check "fix ambient materials"
American Eagle Lover

craigster001 User avatar
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Posts: 133
Points on hand: 351.50 Points
Bank: 0.00 Points
That solves black faces and turns them into white faces.

TTD03 User avatar
True Addicts
True Addicts

Posts: 7307
Points on hand: 738.00 Points
Bank: 111,265.11 Points

Post November 29th, 2014, 3:15 pm

Posts: 1937
Points on hand: 4,800.70 Points
Bank: 0.00 Points
Location: New Jersey, USA

Hate to bump but I tried to do this with an LSM I made but when I loaded up the Sim some of the components were clear/invisible. How do I fix this?
It's been a long time
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCErEzTkqrD55UEiIiiKsKmg

Post December 2nd, 2014, 8:44 pm
TTD03 User avatar
True Addicts
True Addicts

Posts: 7307
Points on hand: 738.00 Points
Bank: 111,265.11 Points


Return to 3D Modeling Discussion

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post