Board index Theme Park Discussions Theme Park Employment Is a Summer Theme Park Job worth it?

Is a Summer Theme Park Job worth it?

This category is for all theme park employees, past, present, and future.

Post October 25th, 2015, 5:33 pm
VF15 User avatar
News Writer
News Writer

Points on hand: 10,818.00 Points
Even though it's a little early, I am currently considering applying for a job at an amusement park next summer, and I'm trying to get some input as to whether or not it would be a good idea. I am mainly considering it because I'm a college student that needs money to pay for school, and if I'm going to get a job, I'd prefer to have one at a place where I normally enjoy myself. I'm just not sure if it would be a good investment of my time for my purposes because I hear that most seasonal park employees usually make around minimum wage. I'm also under the impression that working at a park would probably take away the fun of being at the park, but I really don't know anything since only I've visited parks from the perspective of a guest. Feel free to share any advice if you've had any experience working at a park.

Post October 25th, 2015, 5:37 pm
TTD03 User avatar
True Addicts
True Addicts

Points on hand: 738.00 Points
Bank: 111,265.11 Points
^ You love the amusement park industry as a guest. Have you ever wanted to be the guy behind the controls and making people have fun? If you answer yes, go for it.

Your perspective will change on the park, but that comes with the job. Most "GP" employees hate the park after, but you as a "coaster enthusiast" typically will enjoy the park still after working there.

There's a reason I am applying to Cedar Point in 2 summers. It's going to change my view on the park drastically, but I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!

Post October 25th, 2015, 8:08 pm
Mr. Freeze User avatar
Premium Member
Premium Member

Points on hand: 32.00 Points
Bank: 4,860.00 Points