Board index Theme Park Discussions Theme Park Employment How can I turn my passion into a lucrative career.

How can I turn my passion into a lucrative career.

This category is for all theme park employees, past, present, and future.

Points on hand: 2,652.00 Points
Bank: 2,739.00 Points

I am not looking for handouts, I have never have been that type. I am always looking for a hand up. My biggest passion always has been and always will be roller coasters and amusement/theme parks. It has been that way ever since my first visit to Canobie Lake many, many years ago. Yankee Cannonball has always and always will hold a special place in my heart. I worked at Sea World for a couple years back in the early 2000's, it was a fun job, but, I never felt it would go anywhere. I kick myself every day for leaving because that could have been my golden ticket to bigger things in the amusement industry. I am also an experienced musician/music teacher (no credentials, just over 20 years as a musician). I have been stuck with what I do because I am damn good at it, but it is tearing me down little by little, don't want to get into details, but not being paid legally/fairly for the hours I put in is really getting to me. Anyway, I am looking for ideas/leads as to how I can turn my passion(s) into a legit, lucrative career. I have been searching and searching, but, most of the available positions require a degree. My one major regret, in fact the only regret I have, is dropping out of college to chase that almighty dollar. my last year of college I was making almost $20 per hour, with full benefits and advancement opportunities. Sadly, that career was short-lived. I live in Southern California and any input, please keep it positive/constructive, would be greatly appreciated. Please keep in mind I am living on my own and must be able to make a minimum of $11 per hour, that's my current wage and cannot afford to make any less. Thank you in advance for taking the time to respond, and if