Board index Off Topic Board Off Topic Discussion Buying new PC to max NL2. Advice?

Buying new PC to max NL2. Advice?

Here, anything goes. Talk about anything that you would like to talk about!

Post February 8th, 2016, 4:14 pm
gouldy User avatar
Premium Member
Premium Member

Points on hand: 2,833.00 Points
Bank: 25,088.00 Points

I've been nursing 10 FPS on NL2 for a couple of years now, and dealing with random blue screens every couple of hours that just conveniently happen right before I'm about to save the previous hour's work. It's quite an unejoyable process, for me, producing anything in NL2. I have still been doing it, but nothing I've done in the last couple of years has been really good enough to share (including the one ride I actually did upload haha).

But the time has come where I can no longer abide by this hunk of crap laptop, and I'm going to set myself up with a decent desktop, now that I also have an actual room where a computer can go as well.

So... not being particularly up on this sort of thing, I was hoping to find some advice from the rest of you on what's important when specing this up.

Basically, I want to have no trouble maxing all the settings on NL2, and still getting 30-60fps. I've never actually seen NL2 running at over about 15fps haha.

Budget is going to be about ??800 ($1,200)(or under!), but that would have to include monitor(s) and all peripherals.

Cheers!

Post February 8th, 2016, 4:16 pm
Paradox User avatar

Points on hand: 7,113.00 Points
Bank: 10,198.60 Points
Here's a great idea! Give me the money so I can get a good comp and run NL2 without trouble!!!!
Coasterkidmwm wrote:
gouldy wrote:
Just don't employ stupid people and you're golden.

That's like finding a Waffle House with no white trash in it.

Post February 8th, 2016, 4:22 pm
gouldy User avatar
Premium Member
Premium Member

It's been trouble enough getting that together this year, so what I think I might do instead, is buy myself a computer :P