Board index Theme Park Discussions General Theme Park Discussions Six Flags Magic Mountain: flash pass

Six Flags Magic Mountain: flash pass

Discuss anything related to theme parks in general.

Post November 25th, 2016, 10:35 am

Points on hand: 153.00 Points
Hello all

I'm not quite sure to start a new topic for this, but "bumping" a topic on SFMM doesn't seem like a great idea either, so...

During summer I have to go from Europe to LA. I don't have a lot of time but I really want to visit SFMM. I want to tackle this problem by buying one of their fastpasses. But than I have no experience in this park what so ever. I was wondering about your experience: is this going to be possible with a fast pass?

On their webpage (https://www.sixflags.com/magicmountain/store/flash-pass) I see they offer 3 types of flash passes:
- $40 (normal): reservation equal to current wait time
- $75 (gold): UP TO 50% faster than current wait time
- $115 (platinum): UP TO 90% faster than current wait time

I always considered those passes as being a bit of a "rip off" but I have no choice. Visiting 1 day without a flash pass is going to leave me with a feeling that I have still not visited the park. I really want to try out the bigger (and classic) coasters. I was hoping, with the international experience on this forum, I can get some advice on this topic?

Thanks!

Post November 25th, 2016, 11:34 am
Paradox User avatar

Points on hand: 7,113.00 Points
Bank: 10,198.60 Points
SFMM's flash pass system works well but is also a bit of a ripoff. When I went I also had one day and since it was in the beginning of August and bought the Platinum Pass. I was able to do everything but the Platinum Pass also has some restrictions. None of the Flash Passes let you use X2. Even with the Platinum Pass you have to pay 15 dollars extra for a one time use on X2. You also only get one reservation on TC, Superman, and Full Throttle.